Back To Top

Information For Families

Information For Families


Central School has celebrated one hundred and eighteen years of excellence in education. This school was built in 1906 to replace Elm Street Public School and the earlier S.S. Number 2, a log cabin which stood at the corner of Oak and Elm Streets. This new six room school was used for both elementary and secondary students. By 1910, a separate secondary school was needed and a three storey building was constructed on the same property. In 1925, Grimsby Secondary School was built on Bolton Avenue. This left the two buildings for use by the elementary students.

Over the years there have been numerous additions to the original building. The old high school building was demolished in 1969 and classrooms, a library resource centre, a gymnasium and change rooms were all added in 1970. Central School has a rich history. It was originally named Grimsby Central School because of its location in downtown Grimsby. In 2016, the school became French Immersion streamed, and it underwent a logo and mascot shift from the Seahawks to the Stingrays!

Currently, Central School has a population of just under 600 students. There are 25 Grade 1-8 classes in the school. The students at Central School participate in a rich and varied program provided by an excellent staff.

 Old School